Success in Distance Learning

Students in a distance learning setting are required to take a more active role in their learning than traditional students in a face-to-face classroom environment. We are responsible for what we are learning; how much we actually learn as well as how to use what we are learning now as building blocks for what we will learn in future topics or subjects. We have to rely on our own initiative to study the course materials posted online as well as being proactive in searching for other helpful resources not identified on the course sites. We also have to rely on other means of communication like written messages or posts from our professors or faculty members and from other students. As we all know, students in distance learning are mostly practicing professionals in a given field and are not always in the same country, messages or replies are not read on the same day that it was written. It is one of the biggest challenges of distance learning. We haven’t got the privilege of being able to approach our professors about matters that we need clarifications on right after the class. And for some people, they find it hard to express themselves in writing.

To ensure that we accomplish our goals in distance education, one must be fully committed to it. Being committed to our decision to embark on this journey is the most important attribute that we must have that can guarantee success.  We mustn’t procrastinate or allow ourselves to lose focus. We are doing these courses for a genuine desire to become more skilled in our chosen field, but we still find ourselves getting distracted at times. We benefit from the flexibility of distance learning so if we don’t make strategic decisions in how to manage our time and organize our priorities appropriately, then we are very likely to struggle or find this experience unsatisfying. It probably doesn’t matter as much to some people, but for most of us who are mindful of our financial and time investments in doing the course, we intend to make it all worthwhile.

In my experience so far, I find that reading and understanding the course guide is very useful. It contains all the necessary information about my teacher, schedule of activities, assignment schedules, grading requirements as well as information or instructions on how to access forums and course materials. It helped me organize, plan and prioritize which enabled me to complete activities on time. Learning how to navigate the course site as soon as possible was also of great advantage. I didn’t have to waste time having to do it when I was already supposed to focus on studying. Another important thing that I find very helpful is reading the posts or answers of my classmates. Admittedly, I am not as active as I should be in contributing to discussions but I always make sure that I read what the others have to say and they usually have some profound ideas and insights on things which inspire and influence my own thinking on the topic. Lastly, as I have already mentioned above, I try to start on my work on time, if not well ahead of time. I find that this helps me focus as I don’t get distracted by worrying about finishing tasks on time. This also allows me to review my work thoroughly and send them to grammar and plagiarism checkers online and still have enough time to make any necessary changes before I have to turn it in.

So how can I use what I have learned from studying the social learning theory to encourage my fellow students in distance learning to be committed to their courses? I think that posting my answers ahead of time is a kind of modelling. Other students would see it and hopefully inspires them to do the same. Although I understand that some students could also see it as being too eager, I probably am in a certain degree, but I am hoping for a positive response. Also, I will try to nourish a positive atmosphere with my classmates that will help us figure out the best ways to be supportive of each other through written texts and indirect communications. After all, the social cognitive learning theory is more about learning from having discussions with others. We all need each other in creating an online learning environment that is respectful of others’ ideas and at the same time encouraging one another to improve by making constructive comments or feedback on our posts. I am hoping that by practicing these things I get to encourage others to display commitment to their respective learning goals and help them realize that active engagement will pay off in the end.

Leave a comment